How to Delete your Facebook Account Permanently

How to Delete your Facebook Account Permanently

Updated on September 20, 2021

Are you done with Facebook and want to get rid of your account completely and permanently? Want to leave the platform with no option to come back later? Did you know that Facebook allows you to permanently delete your account or temporarily deactivate it?

Well, before we get started, make sure you want to permanently delete your Facebook account. If you just want to take a break without deleting your account, you can deactivate it instead.

So, what is the difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account?

When you deactivate a Facebook account, it disappears immediately from Facebook and no one can see it or search for it. In addition, you can reactivate it easily at any time you want by simply logging in as you normally do. What's more, there is no limit to the number of times you can deactivate and reactivate your account.

Unlike deactivating, when you delete a Facebook account, it will first be deactivated for 30 days, then it will be permanently deleted and you won't be able to get it back.

Sure about deleting your account? Ready to say goodbye to Facebook? If so, let's follow the instructions below!

1. How to Delete Facebook Account on Computer?

1

To begin, go to facebook.com and log into your account, if you haven't logged in already.

2

Click the downward arrow icon in the upper-right corner of any Facebook page, select Settings & Privacy from the drop-down menu and then click Settings.

Facebook Settings
3

From the left-hand side menu, click on Your Facebook Information.

Your Facebook Information
4

Next, click on Deactivation and deletion at the bottom of the page.

Facebook Deactivation and Deletion
5

To permanently delete your Facebook account, select Delete Account, then click Continue to account deletion.

Permanently Delete Facebook Account
6

Click the Delete Account button.

Delete Account Facebook
7

At this point you'll be asked to enter your password, enter it and click Continue.

Enter Facebook Account password & Continue
8

Finally, click Delete Account to close your Facebook completely and permanently.

Confirm Facebook Account Deletion

After 30 days of initiating the deletion process, Facebook will delete your account and all the information associated with it, and you won't be able to get it back.

If you change your mind within this period of time, you can cancel the process of deleting your Facebook account. To do this, log into your account as you normally do, and then click the Cancel Deletion button.

That's it! That's all you need to do to delete your Facebook account permanently using a computer or laptop . If you'd like to delete your Facebook account using the mobile app, I'll show you how to do that next.

Facebook about 1 year ago 01:47

2. How to Delete Facebook Account on Mobile App?

1

Open the Facebook app on your smartphone and log into your account, if needed.

2

Tap the three lines icon located in the top right corner (Android) or in the bottom right corner (iPhone), then scroll down and tap Settings & Privacy.

Menu - Settings & Privacy
3

Next, tap Settings.

Facebook Account Settings
4

Tap on Personal and Account Information.

Personal and Account Information
5

After that, tap on Account Ownership and Control.

Account Ownership and Control
6

Tap Deactivation and Deletion.

Deactivation and Deletion
7

To permanently close your Facebook account, Select Delete Account and tap Continue to Account Deletion.

Delete Account - Continue to Account Deletion
8

Once here, select the reason for leaving Facebook. If you don't want to provide a particular reason, tap Continue to Account Deletion to proceed.

Continue to Account Deletion
9

Scroll down and tap Delete Account at the bottom.

Delete Account Facebook
10

You'll be asked to enter your password, enter it and tap Continue.

Enter password and Continue
11

Finally, tap Delete Account to permanently delete your Facebook account. Once you do that, Facebook will sign you out and redirect you to the login page

Delete Account Facebook

You're all done! After taking the steps to delete your Facebook account, it will first be deactivated for 30 days, then it will be permanently deleted.

If you change your mind within this period of time, you can cancel the process of deleting your Facebook account. To do this, log into your account as you normally do, and then click the Cancel Deletion button.

That's it! That's how you delete your Facebook account using the mobile app.

Facebook about 1 year ago 02:32

If you have any question regarding this post, just let me know in the comments below or send me a message on my Facebook page! I will be more than glad to help you out! 🙂