How to Deactivate Facebook Account Temporarily

How to Deactivate Facebook Account Temporarily

Updated on September 15, 2021

Are you sick and tired of Facebook and want to take a break ? Wondering how to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account with the option to come back later instead of deleting it permanently? Well, if that's the case, then you're certainly at the right place.

Just keep in mind that when you deactivate a Facebook account, it won't be searchable or visible except messages that you sent to friends and your name on their friends list. If you have a page that only you control will also be deactivated. To keep your page active, you can give someone else full control of it. It also needs to be noted that there is no limit to the number of times you can deactivate and reactivate your Facebook account. Once you log back into your account, it will be restored and it'll be like you never left.

In this easy to follow step-by-step guide, I'll show you how to deactivate your Facebook account temporarily on both computer and the mobile app. So, let's get started!

1. How to Deactivate Facebook Account on a Computer?

1

To begin, go to facebook.com and log into your account, if you haven't logged in already.

2

Click the down arrow at the top right of any Facebook page, select Settings & Privacy from the drop-down menu and then click Settings.

Facebook Settings
3

In the left side, click Your Facebook Information.

Your Facebook Information
4

Next, click Deactivation and deletion.

Facebook Deactivation and Deletion
5

Select Deactivate account, then click Continue to Account Deactivation.

Continue to Account Deactivation
6

Select a reason for disabling your account, then click the Deactivate button at the bottom.

Deactivate Facebook
7

In the popup window that appears, click the Deactivate Now button.

Deactivate Facebook Now

After performing the steps above, your Facebook account will be temporarily deactivated. To reactivate it again, simply log back in at any time using your username and password.

That's it! That's all you need to do to temporarily disable your Facebook account using a computer. If you'd like to temporarily disable your Facebook account using the mobile app, I'll show you how to do that next.

2. How to Deactivate Facebook Account using the mobile app?

1

Open the Facebook app and log into your account, if needed.

2

Tap the three lines icon located in the top right corner (Android) or in the bottom right corner (iPhone), then scroll down and tap Settings & Privacy.

Menu - Settings & Privacy
3

Next, tap Settings.

Facebook Account Settings
4

Tap on Personal and Account Information.

Personal and Account Information
5

Tap Account Ownership and Control.

Account Ownership and Control
6

Tap Deactivation and Deletion.

Deactivation and Deletion
7

Select Deactivate Account and tap Continue to Account Deactivation at the bottom of the page.

Continue to Account Deactivation
8

Select a reason for leaving, then tap Continue.

Continue
9

Finally, scroll down and tap Deactivate My Account.

Deactivate My Account

After performing the steps above, your Facebook account will be temporarily deactivated. To reactivate it again, simply log back in at any time using your username and password.

That's it! That's how you temporarily disable your Facebook account using the mobile app.

If you have any question regarding this post, just let me know in the comments below or send me a message on my Facebook page! I will be more than glad to help you out! 🙂