How to Make Your Facebook Completely Private

11984
How to Make Your Facebook Completely Private

Are you worried about your privacy on Facebook? Want to tweak your account privacy settings and make your Facebook profile completely private to non friends or even to friends? Want to restrict them from viewing your Facebook personal information, friends list, photo albums, liked pages and everything you care about?

If so, in this post, I'll show you in detailed steps how to change your privacy settings in order to make everything private on facebook and stop people who are not your friends from seeing anything.

Ready to take this trip? Ready to protect your own privacy on the blue site and get rid of haters, stalkers and unwanted people? If so, let's go!

How to Make Your Facebook Completely Private?

Step 1: Click the down arrow icon at the top right of any Facebook page, then choose "Settings" from the drop down menu..

See More Settings

Step 2: From the left side, click on the "Privacy" tab.

See More Settings

Now, you should be in your privacy settings page. Are you there?

Privacy Settings and Tools

Great! We are going to adjust each item individually.

Step 3: Change your default sharing:
It's very important to choose who can see your future posts, so, whenever you post something it will be shared only with that specific audience.

To do so, go to "Who can see my stuff?", click "Edit" beside "Who can see your future posts?". After that click the audience selector and select the audience you want from the drop down menu.

Default Sharing privacy

- You can choose "Friends" to share your future posts only with your friends.
- You can also choose "Custom" to set them to a custom settings.
- Or you can choose "Only Me" to hide your next posts from everyone.

Step 4: Limit the audience for your old posts:
Want to limit access to your old published posts and share them only with friends? If yes, you can use a great feature provided by Facebook called Limit Past Posts.

So, what does this feature do? In short, It'll set all your posts on your Facebook timeline to only friends by one click. But you should know that you won't be able to revert them back in one click. You'll need to do that for each post individually.

Want to use this tool? Ready?

Click "Limit Past Posts" link beside "Limit the audience for posts you've shared friends of friends or Public?", Click "Limit Old Posts" button › Click "Confirm" › Click "Close" in the popup window › Then press the "Close" link.

Limit Old Posts Privacy

Step 5: Prevent the public from sending you friend requests:
To avoid getting friend requests from people you don't know, you'll need to hide the add friend button from your Facebook profile.

To do this, Click "Edit" next to "Who can contact me?" › Then click the audience selector and choose "Friends of Friends" instead of "Everyone" › Press "Close".

limit friend request

You can visit this link to learn more about how to hide the add friend button on Facebook timeline

Step 6: Control who can search for you on Facebook using the email address or phone number associated with your account.

Click "Edit" next to "Who can look you up using the email address you provided?", choose "Friends" › Press "Close"

Lookup Email

Click "Edit" beside "Who can look you up using the phone number you provided?", choose "Friends" › Press the "Close" link.

Lookup Phone Number

Step 7: Stop search engines from linking to your Facebook profile:
To do this, click "Edit" next to "Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile?", uncheck the box next to "Allow search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile" › in the pop up window, click "Turn Off" › Press "Close".

Stop Search Engines

After doing that, Facebook will prevent search engines like Google Search, Bing search, Yahoo search and others from indexing your profile. Other thing is that people who are not logged into Facebook won't be able to view your profile at all and this is the message they will see.

Unavailable Profile

Step 8: Now, let's move to another section, select "Timeline and Tagging Settings" from the left side and change the settings as described below.

Step 9: Stop friends from posting on your own timeline:
To do this, locate "Who can add things to my timeline?" and click "Edit" beside "Who can post on your timeline?", select "Only Me" then press the "Close" link.

Who Can Add Things To My Timeline

Also, click Edit next to Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline?, choose Enabled and press Close.

Review Posts

You can change the rest of settings in this section, so the final result should be like this:

Timeline and Tagging Settings

Step 10: Prevent non friends from following you:
If you're willing to make your Facebook private, I don't think it's necessary to keep the follow button on your timeline. To hide it, click on "Public Posts" in the left side, click the audience selector next to "Who Can Follow Me" and choose "Friends".

Followers Settings

All what we have done now is so so important, but really we are just going to start with the big parts.

What about the friends list, following and followers? What about the personal information stocked in the about section, such as phone number, email address, date of birth and so on? What about your pictures and photo albums? What about your liked pages?

Step 11: Hide your friends list:
Want to restrict some people or all of them from knowing who your friends are? Well, this link will show you how to make your friends private on Facebook.

Step 12: Hide your personal information:
to make your personal info private, follow the steps described in this post: How to Hide Your Personal Information on Facebook

Step 13: Make your pictures and photo albums private:
To prevent non friends or friends from viewing your personal photos and photo albums, click on this link to learn more about How to Make Your Photo Albums Private on Facebook.

Step 14: Hide your liked pages:
If you want to keep the pages you like private on Facebook, take a look at this post: How to Hide your Liked Pages on Facebook

Finally, to make sure that your Facebook account is completely private, you'll need to view it as someone else. To do so, click the three dots icon underneath your cover photo and select View As....

Click here to learn more to learn more about how to view your Facebook profile as someone else.

That's it for this post! If you still have any question about how to make Facebook private, you can post it in the comment box below and I'll try to help you as much as I can.

Please don't forget to share this post with your friends on social media.

Thanks for following the steps! Thanks for visiting, TutoVids.net!

Video Tutorial: How to Make Your Facebook Profile Completely Private

Related Posts